Well, I Didn’t Hate It: Jimmyjane Form 5 Review

photograph of the jimmyjane form 5 on its sideLet’s be upfront about this: The Form 5 looks weird. Like the rest Jimmyjane‘s FORM series, this is a toy that wouldn’t look out of place in an exhibit of abstract Scandinavian desk art. This rotund little vibrator with its two ears/horns/wings/flippers sticking up on either side of a rounded head drew my eye during a period when I was struggling to find vibrators that worked with my particular dick-dysphoria. I was looking for an external vibrator that I could use without feeling like I had to “repurpose” one marketed for clits or deal with the hyper-masculine packaging of vibes marketed for dudes. With its “For women and men!” (yeah, yeah, I know) packaging and unique shape that didn’t look like the traditional clit or dick toys, I could easily see myself rubbing one out with the Form 5.

I lusted after the Form 5 for months before I finally put it on my dick. I have a history of building myself up for disappointment and while the Form 5 didn’t quite live up to my hype it was still a completely pleasant experience. Using it on my frenulum (that sensitive area on the bottom of the dick where the head meets the shaft, if you’re circumcised you probably have a little scar that marks the spot) the combined vibrations of the domed head and the fluttering wings created a feeling distinct from any other vibrator I’ve used.

My preferred way of using the Form 5 is to place it on my frenulum so that the wings kind of hug the bottom half of the head of my dick. While it’s on I rock it back and forth or do little strokes to move the vibration around and add some variation to the sensation. This is pretty much I use most external vibes, the only difference here is that wings spread the vibrations out over a slightly larger surface area than if I was using a more traditionally shaped vibrator on my dick.

One of the aspects that initially attracted me to the Form 5 was that it seemed like it had the same sort of power that Jimmyjane put in the Form 2. Like many reviewers I found the vibration to be significantly less powerful that I expected from a toy made by Jimmyjane. While I normally go for deeper rumbly-type vibrations or a buzzy toy that has a lot of power to it (talking about you, Hitachi), I was still able to enjoy the Form 5, something that separates my experience from most of reviews I’ve read. For me the Form 5 is one of the toys that I need to apply a little pressure to the toy to really get the vibrations that I like (I apply a slightly similar pressure with the Mona and the Siri if that’s a helpful reference for anyone.)

If the Form 5 was just the domed head I probably wouldn’t have much interest but the weaker than expected vibrations are somewhat compensated for by the wings. Unfortunately, they barely make a difference for me. Just as the vibrations are simply fine, the wings are kind of interesting but nothing to write home about. My frustration is that while I can feel the wings enough for them to make a marginal difference they just aren’t strong enough to do what I want. Instead of being a truly novel and interesting vibrator for me, they just feel like thin pieces of silicone fluttering from the diffused vibration of the main motor (which is actually what I think they are). I’d love to try a version where the only thing changed is the addition of a motor for the wings to really give them some power. As someone who hasn’t loved using masturbation sleeves/strokers I was hoping the wings would be like an open sleeve providing sensation to the bottom and sides of my dick. Instead they’re just wimpy little things that provide the bare amount of diffused vibration to do anything for me.

photograph of the jimmyjane form 5 on its side focusing on the dome and wings

The “pleasure dome” with its underwhelming wings.

Does it bring me to orgasm every time I use it? No, but there are many toys that I adore in my collection which I don’t often use the entire time I’m going for an orgasm. The Form 5 is one of the vibrators that I sometimes find myself in the mood for and enjoying even if I almost always switch over to the Hitachi or Mona to go to the next stage of pleasure.

When I tried to make a list of Definite Positives about this toy I found myself feeling like I was reaching to find things. It’s covered in silicone which is a reliable material (just don’t use silicone lube with silicone) and easy to clean (warm water and soap will do it.) The motor is rechargeable so you don’t need to keep buying batteries. It’s waterproof. Jimmyjane has a good reputation for durability and they offer a really solid warranty in the event that something does go wrong. There’s… well, honestly that’s the entire list of Things That Are Definite Positive About The Form 5.

photograph of the jimmyjane form 5 standing in its charger

Like the rest of the Form line the Form 5 charges by being placed in a dock.

Although I do ultimately enjoy the Form 5 I’m hesitant to recommend it. Honestly it’s a combination of meh-features which somehow come together to make a vibrator that I can get into from time to time. There’s really nothing about it that stands out enough for me to say that if you like “X” sensation, “X” type of toy, or “X” feature, you might want to try out the Form 5. Even with toys that I don’t like, I’m normally able to identify one or two aspects that I can use to say who I think could get some enjoyment out of it. Because it’s hard to say anything definite about the Form 5, I would really encourage someone to find a shop where they let you touch a display model so you can actually feel the vibrations and the wings before spending money to it.

The Form 5 from Jimmyjane is just interesting enough for me, even if there’s nothing in particular that stands out to me or my dick. If you have the money and want to take a gamble on a pricier external vibrator (I usually see it priced at around $116-$150) then the Form 5 could be an option. If you’ve been saving up your money for a “high end” or “luxury” external vibrator I would say that the Form Five is too much of a gamble.photograph of purple jimmyjane form 5 on its side
THE QUICK AND DIRTY:

TYPE: External vibrator

VIBRATIONS: Moderate, on the buzzier side for me

MATERIAL: Silicone (no silicone based lube; warm water and soap to clean)

WATERPROOF: Yes – submergible

POWER SOURCE: Rechargeable (USB cord included)

PRICE: ~$100-150

WARRANTY: Yes

WORTH THE MONEY: Only if you don’t need deep or strong vibrations and are able to take a chance with a bunch of cash.

This toy was given to me by Oh My Sensuality Shop for my honest review. I also work part-time at Oh My.

Leave a comment