GYRATOR PLEASING FLUTTER Vibrator Review

When the Gyrating Pleasing Flutter first showed up in the store I filed it away in the mental folder of INTERESTING BUT NOT FOR ME. Like many people who first pick it up I assumed that it was going to be an oral sex simulator, something that I’ve never had a strong interest in. Then I began to hear people’s feedback. “It’s so strong!” “It’s my new go-to!” “It’s not meant to simulate oral sex!” The anecdotal reviews I was hearing might have been amazing but I’d recently become a magic wand disciple and I had no time for anything else. Fast forward to this summer: I’d recently begun to reopen my masturbation preferences to include things other than wand-style vibrators and after a string of particularly bad weeks I treated myself to that weird looking vibrator everyone around me was raving about.

So here’s the deal with the Gyrating Pleasing Flutter. It’s a battery operated, plastic
covered vibrator manufactured by California Exotic Novelties that I’ve seen retail for around $20-$30 at various stores. At the bottom of the handle is a big soft on button. Once it’s on you press the button a second time to switch from STRONG to STRONGER and then one more click turns it off. Easy as can be. There’s a 6” handle that ends with the “tongue”; all of this is covered in a soft plastic that doesn’t feel that different from your everyday silicone. It runs on 3 AA batteries and while the manufacturer says it’s water proof the motor is only protected by a single seal so I wouldn’t recommend taking it with you underwater but you should be fine using it in the shower and cleaning it in the sink.

That’s all important information but let’s get to the real question: what does that tongue actually feel like?

First things first it feels like no human tongue I’ve ever experience. The closest comparison I can make is that the Flutter tongue feels like a Hitachi magic wand, except smaller and not as strong and much more focused. What I love about the tongue is that its weird shape allows for a few different sensations in one toy. I’ve found that the slight curve of the tongue is the perfect fit for the bottom of my clit’s head, it’s kind of like getting a hug from a nice strong vibration. If I want slightly less skin-to-toy contact I can just flip it over and use the concave part to rub up and down my clit’s head. And of course there’s the tip of the tongue. Using just the tip produces a pretty damn intense vibration that I would liken to a strong rechargeable bullet vibe. In fact it’s so strong that it can be uncomfortable for me to use on my sensitive post-orgasm clit.  I’ve been experimenting with placing the tongue on other sensitive parts of my body and while I’ve enjoyed how it feels on my tits or perineum I’m not enamored enough to regular use it as anything but a clit vibe.

flutter close up 1flutter closeup 2flutter close up 3

Currently the Flutter is my go-to masturbation vibrator because I can produce such varied sensations with the one toy. Even when using my beloved Hitachi or Embrace Lovers Wand (also by Cal Ex) I like to add in a little something extra if I’m going for longer masturbation sessions that aren’t just about having a quick ogasm. By introducing other vibrations of different strengths or speeds I can mix things up and keep things going without just cumming right away. With all the options that the Flutter’s tongue offers I can swap between a few different types of vibration without having to reach over and grab a second toy.

As much as I love the Flutter I do have one issue that I’d like to complain about: the vibration does carry into the handle which is annoying for my delicate little hands. It’s not bad enough to deter me from using the vibrator but sometimes I’ll need to switch between hands and occasionally it’s annoying enough that I need to set put it aside for a second. This is something that I’ve dealt with in other vibrators and it seems to be one of those things that people either don’t notice or are super sensitive to it. All in all the vibrations in the handle aren’t as bad as some vibrators but it’s enough to annoy me.

If I was going to do a traditional star-rating system the Flutter would get a big ol’ four out of five stars from me. For a battery operated toy it provides a nice strong vibration with an unusual “tongue” that offers a few different sensations all in one toy. Sure the vibrations carry through the handle, sure there are only two speeds, and sure it’s covered in plastic not silicone but for its cost (mine was $24.99) this is a really solid toy. For anyone looking for a strong toy but who doesn’t want to splurge on a rechargeable toy I think this is a great option to consider.flutter full

Quick Specs-

Battery operated (3 AA batteries – “water proof” but should not be submerged underwater)

TPE and ABS plastic (warm water and soap to clean)

2 settings w/ 1 button to cycle through

Turn on/off with single button

Available in a bright pink or dark purple

3” x 1.5” (tongue) and 9” x 1.5” (overall)

One thought on “GYRATOR PLEASING FLUTTER Vibrator Review

Leave a comment